Follow Me!

Reviews

 

“Friedland’s debut envelops readers in the whisper network of the abolitionists, the complicated social structure of the aristocracy and their help, and the bravery of those willing to make changes. Fans of Paulette Jiles and Julia Quinn will adore this triumphant novel of intrigue, secrecy, and redemption.”

— Booklist– Read Full Review Here

”  . . . will seize readers from the first page and not let go.

— Kirkus Reviews– Read Full Review Here

“Sweet and tender, this is a story with a slow-burning chemistry between the main leads, in addition to plenty of historical facts for readers who are seeking a well-researched historical fiction novel. It’s a story not to be rushed through, but one to savor.

— Fresh Fiction

Friedland is a modern Bronte sister remixed with Kathleen Grissom or Leila Meacham. Trouble the Water is the riveting story of Abby, who travels across the sea, fleeing Liverpool, poverty, and an unsavory uncle, for Charleston, where a wealthy friend of her father, Douglas, lives. Douglas has pledged himself to the fight to end slavery, and for that, he has made the ultimate sacrifice. Abby fights inner demons and tries to find her place in Charleston high society while her brooding guardian reconciles the past and returns to his beloved cause. Lovers of Civil War-era historical fiction will rejoice at Friedland’s triumphant novel of love, friendship, and the most important issues of the day.

— Bethany Ball, author of What to do About the Solomons

With compelling characters, a charming peek into Charleston society, a heart-racing romance, rich historical detail, and an epilogue that will have you holding your breath, Friedland has written a well-crafted novel that will stay with you long after you turn the final page.

— Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway Girls, The Balance Project, and On Grace

With a plucky heroine, a dashing hero, and the backdrop of the clandestine abolition movement in the antebellum South, Jacqueline Friedland masterfully weaves a tale full of passion and honor, duty and survival, evil and the beauty of basic human decency. Trouble the Water will make your heart pound and swell, and keep you reading well into the night. Highly recommended!

— Loretta Nyhan, author of I’ll Be Seeing You, All the Good Parts, and Digging In

The complicated history of the antebellum South comes alive in Friedland’s debut novel and offers readers an exciting and fast-paced literary journey that explores complicated relationships, the importance of friendship, and the necessary power of love.

— Kris Radish, best-selling author of A Dangerous Woman From Nowhere

The evil of slavery, the nascent abolitionist movement, the courage of an operative of the underground railroad are explored against the background of the vanished world of debutante cotillions, social intrigue and the slow maturity and melding of skillfully drawn protagonists. Friedland’s research is impeccable, her writing fluid. Trouble the Water is that rare pedagogic novel that engages as it teaches.

— Gloria Goldreich, author of The Bridal Chair

MORE MEDIA

Parade Magazine– Books to Kick Back with over Memorial Day Weekend

Brit + Co.– Books to Read Over Memorial Day Weekend

Fresh Fiction– Review of Trouble the Water

BookBub– 8 Recent Civil War Novels Worth Reading

Scarsdale10583–  Local Author Releases Debut Novel

Big City Moms– A Chat with Supermom Jacqueline Friedland

Happily Ever Bookworm– Review of Trouble the Water

Books More than Anything– Review of Trouble the Water

Broken Teepee– Review of Trouble the Water

Linda’s Book Obsession– Review of Trouble the Water

I am Indeed– Review of Trouble the Water

A Reader’s Journey– Review of Trouble the Water

Jenea’s Book Obsession– Review of Trouble the Water

Girl Who Reads– Six Books to Read this Spring

C.P. Lesley Blog– Interview with Jacqueline Friedland

Midwest Ladies who Lit– Review of Trouble the Water

Suzy Approved Book Reviews– Review of Trouble the Water

What She Reads– What She Reads if She Loves Historical Fiction

Women Writers– Authors Interviewing their Characters

Empowered Women Writing– Interview with Jacqueline Friedland

Story Circle Book Reviews– Review of Trouble the Water

New Books in Historical Fiction- Podcast: Jacqueline Friedland on Trouble the Water

Fresh Fiction- Author Reader Match:  Jacqueline Friedland

Scarsdale10583– Ladies Who Lit to Debut at JCC

Get Your Copy:


amazon



barnesandnoble