Reviews

 

Advance Praise for He Gets That from Me

“It is hard to imagine a better novel for a book club discussion . . . A thoughtful and gripping family tale that will haunt readers long after finishing it.”

— Kirkus Reviews, STARRED Review– Read Full Review Here

“A heartfelt exploration of what it means to be a family, He Gets That from Me is a fascinating story of strength, humanity, love, and perseverance. This is one you won’t stop thinking about.”

— Allison Winn Scotch, best-selling author of Cleo McDougal Regrets Nothing

“Compulsively readable and ferociously insightful . . . He Gets That from Me cuts to the core of what it means to be family. An unforgettable book of our times.”

— Jamie Brenner, author of The Forever Summer and Blush

He Gets That from Me is a potent reminder that we can’t always choose what life hands us–but we can decide whether to rise to the occasion when faced with seemingly impossible choices. With expert plotting and unwavering empathy toward her characters, Jacqueline Friedland has written a novel as unexpected as it is riveting. I read it in a single sitting.”

— Camille Pagán, best-selling author of This Won’t End Well

“With He Gets That From Me, Friedland invites you to ask yourself the questions you didn’t even know you needed to answer … about family, forgiveness, sacrifice, and love. An absolute home run.”

— Amy Impellizzeri, award-winning author of Lemongrass Hope and I Know How This Ends

He Gets That from Me takes on timeless questions about parenthood and our presumptions about birth, biology, and family. Describing a modern-day arrangement between two dads and a surrogate, the story opens our eyes to the many ways a family can be created while also telling a suspenseful narrative full of unexpected thrills that keep the reader wanting more. A moving story throughout, it ends with a twist that will leave you thinking about the book long after you’ve finished reading it.”

— Melissa Brisman, Esq., reproductive attorney

Get Your Copy:


amazon

Indiebound

Good Reads

barnesandnoble

audible

Books a Million

Get Your Copy:


amazon



barnesandnoble

Books a Million

Reviews for That’s Not a Thing

“Friedland’s That’s Not a Thing is an unputdownable tale of old love meets new. Heartrending and evocative, this beautifully woven story captures the deep-seated emotions we carry―those of guilt, forgiveness, and what it means to be there for those we love. Friedland’s sharp writing and emotional depth will leave you turning the pages, ending with a satisfying, albeit bittersweet conclusion.

— Rochelle Weinstein, USA Today best-selling author of This Is Not How It Ends

“Jacqueline Friedland is at the top of her game with this wholly engrossing page-turner about the complexities of love, loss, and loyalty. With richly drawn characters and a gripping plot, That’s Not a Thing is undoubtedly THE thing to pack in your beach bag or pick for your book club. Friedland has done it again―another must-read!

— Amy Blumenfeld, award-winning author of The Cast

“Fun, flirty and fabulous…I devoured this read!

— Stephanie Evanovich, New York Times best-selling author of Big Girl Panties and The Sweet Spot

“Fans of Jojo Moyes and Karma Brown will simply love Jacqueline Friedland’s romantic, poignant novel, That’s Not A Thing. In this dramatic and insightful story, Friedland explores tragedy, true love, and life’s many ‘what ifs’.

―Amy Poeppel, author of Limelight and Small Admissions

“In That’s Not a Thing, Friedland has created a delightful and generous novel about the type of love that never leaves us and the people we hope to become in the aftermath.

―Laura Dave, international best-selling author of Eight Hundred Grapes

Reviews for Trouble the Water

“Friedland’s debut envelops readers in the whisper network of the abolitionists, the complicated social structure of the aristocracy and their help, and the bravery of those willing to make changes. Fans of Paulette Jiles and Julia Quinn will adore this triumphant novel of intrigue, secrecy, and redemption.”

— Booklist– Read Full Review Here

”  . . . will seize readers from the first page and not let go.

— Kirkus Reviews– Read Full Review Here

“Sweet and tender, this is a story with a slow-burning chemistry between the main leads, in addition to plenty of historical facts for readers who are seeking a well-researched historical fiction novel. It’s a story not to be rushed through, but one to savor.

— Fresh Fiction

Friedland is a modern Bronte sister remixed with Kathleen Grissom or Leila Meacham. Trouble the Water is the riveting story of Abby, who travels across the sea, fleeing Liverpool, poverty, and an unsavory uncle, for Charleston, where a wealthy friend of her father, Douglas, lives. Douglas has pledged himself to the fight to end slavery, and for that, he has made the ultimate sacrifice. Abby fights inner demons and tries to find her place in Charleston high society while her brooding guardian reconciles the past and returns to his beloved cause. Lovers of Civil War-era historical fiction will rejoice at Friedland’s triumphant novel of love, friendship, and the most important issues of the day.

— Bethany Ball, author of What to do About the Solomons

With compelling characters, a charming peek into Charleston society, a heart-racing romance, rich historical detail, and an epilogue that will have you holding your breath, Friedland has written a well-crafted novel that will stay with you long after you turn the final page.

— Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway Girls, The Balance Project, and On Grace

With a plucky heroine, a dashing hero, and the backdrop of the clandestine abolition movement in the antebellum South, Jacqueline Friedland masterfully weaves a tale full of passion and honor, duty and survival, evil and the beauty of basic human decency. Trouble the Water will make your heart pound and swell, and keep you reading well into the night. Highly recommended!

— Loretta Nyhan, author of I’ll Be Seeing You, All the Good Parts, and Digging In

The complicated history of the antebellum South comes alive in Friedland’s debut novel and offers readers an exciting and fast-paced literary journey that explores complicated relationships, the importance of friendship, and the necessary power of love.

— Kris Radish, best-selling author of A Dangerous Woman From Nowhere

The evil of slavery, the nascent abolitionist movement, the courage of an operative of the underground railroad are explored against the background of the vanished world of debutante cotillions, social intrigue and the slow maturity and melding of skillfully drawn protagonists. Friedland’s research is impeccable, her writing fluid. Trouble the Water is that rare pedagogic novel that engages as it teaches.

— Gloria Goldreich, author of The Bridal Chair

Get Your Copy:


amazon



barnesandnoble

audible

Books a Million


MORE MEDIA

Parade Magazine– 11 Romantic Books That Will Have You Believing in the Power of Love

Betches– 20 Books to Read in 2020

Lilith– Love and the Law in That’s Not a Thing

Beyond the Bookends- Spring 2020 New Releases

Frolic- 10 New Sweet Romance Reads to Add to Your 2020 TBR

SheReads- 11 Books That Will Take You on A Literary Staycation

Fresh Fiction- New Fiction Roundup

The Nerd Daily- Review of That’s Not a Thing

Affinity Magazine- Love, Loss and Redemption in That’s Not a Thing

Brit + Co.-  12 Books That Will Take You on a Literary Vacation 

Travel & Leisure- 20 New Books to Gift this Mother’s Day

Writer Unboxed- 9 Authors on Hope

Novel Network- Best Books By Women to Read This Summer

Parade Magazine– Books to Kick Back with over Memorial Day Weekend

Brit + Co.– Books to Read Over Memorial Day Weekend

Fresh Fiction– Review of Trouble the Water

BookBub– 8 Recent Civil War Novels Worth Reading

Scarsdale10583–  Local Author Releases Debut Novel

Big City Moms– A Chat with Supermom Jacqueline Friedland

Happily Ever Bookworm– Review of Trouble the Water

Books More than Anything– Review of Trouble the Water

Broken Teepee– Review of Trouble the Water

Linda’s Book Obsession– Review of Trouble the Water

I am Indeed– Review of Trouble the Water

A Reader’s Journey– Review of Trouble the Water

Jenea’s Book Obsession– Review of Trouble the Water

Girl Who Reads– Six Books to Read this Spring

C.P. Lesley Blog– Interview with Jacqueline Friedland